Thanksgiving Downunder 2012

This year marks the third year Josh has been in New Zealand over Thanksgiving, and this year, like the past two years, we celebrated it “downunder” style. This year’s Thanksgiving also happened to coincide with my Mum’s birthday, and even though she is in another country right now, Josh and I, and my brother and middle sister liked to think we were celebrating that too.

Because it was just the four of us, we had quite a lot of flexibility with our menu choices. My brother (let’s call him D) brought the pre-dinner snacks, my sister (A) brought apple cider and juice, and I was in charge of roasting a leg of lamb (for the very first time), cooking up some new potatoes and asparagus to go with it, and dessert (a mixed berry pie, also a first for me!).

Ah, how I long for a bigger kitchen. Could be worse I guess.

D is always in charge of making the gravy.

It probably wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without some sort of kitchen disaster. I was preheating the oven while I prepared the lamb, when Josh walked in and asked why the kitchen was filled with smoke. We quickly turned the oven off and let it cool down while we investigated what the issue was. It turns out we aren’t very proactive in cleaning our oven and there was some burnt food at the bottom clogging things up. Oops. It was easily fixed though, and everything got cooked properly, even if it was 45 minutes later than I originally planned.

A mixing the pie filling for me.

Josh victorious after fixing the oven.

While we waited for the lamb to roast, we took a couple group shots out in front of our old shed to send to my mum for her birthday.
We were also able to skype her and Dad for a bit which was nice.

You can’t see it, but we’re all gathered around the laptop here to skype.

And then it was time to eat!

If you’re wondering, all I did with the lamb was rub it with mustard, cut slits in it and stuff those slits all over with garlic and fresh rosemary. I roasted it for 15 mins at 220 C, and then an hour at 170 C. Seemed to work pretty well. Next time I need to figure out how to make the outside crispier because I think I was too impatient this time round.

There’s no photo of the pie because it was ugly (I am bad with pastry) and we ate it too fast. It was delicious (presentation doesn’t matter, right?).

So, that was our Thanksgiving. Have you ever taken a holiday or tradition from another country and incorporated it into your life?

3 comments
  1. Your NZ kitchen and shed make me feel so at home. Mum and Dad had the same fake rimu kitchen formica in the house I grew up in. I’d love to know what part of NZ you’re in!

    • Thanks cannopener, we’re currently based in Palmerston North. The house (we’re just renters) was apparently built in the 1940s. It’s a bit run down but cosy!

      • Nice. My best friend lived there for a while and I’ve visited a time or two. I’ve grown up in Dunedin and am still here.

Leave a Reply

